WEC: Toyota still at the top in FP4; Corvette Hold 1-2 in LMGTE Pro


The last track before the 90th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans this weekend took place on Friday evening with two hours of nightly free practice. The #7 Toyota Gazoo Racing Hybrid GR010 Hypercar edged out the #8 GR010 Hybrid Hypercar on pole position by 0.3s as the teams prepared by strategizing over long stints.

In LMGTE Pro, the Corvette again led the way in a 1-2 formation, while in LMP2, the #23 United Autosports USA car finished the fastest session.

LMGTE Am honors go to the #77 Porsche Dempsey Proton driven by Harry Tincknell, Sébastien Priaulx and Christian Ried.


  • José María López set the best time of the session with a 3m28.322s, the Argentinian completed a full stint behind the wheel in the final free practice session
  • The #8 Toyota is 0.362s behind as Sebastien Buemi sets the fastest time for pole sitters in 3m28.684s
  • Third position goes to the #708 Glickenhaus 007LMH who edge out the #709 Glickenhaus in fourth as the popular American prepares to enter the second 24 Hours of Le Mans and aims to improve on last year’s fourth position.
  • The Alpine ELF Team trio composed of André Negrao, Nicolas Lapierre and Matthieu Vaxiviere finished the session in fifth position with a time of 3m31.039s


  • Corvette Racing leads again in LMGTE Pro with Nicky Catsburg setting fastest lap of 3m52.710s in the #63 Chevrolet Corvette
  • Corvette Racing 1-2 in FP4 plus a Hyperpole session with the #64 Chevrolet Corvette driven by Nick Tandy, Alexander Sims and Tommy Milner just 0.021 seconds behind the sister car
  • Porsche third and fourth as #91 leads #92 911 RSR-19 Porsche GT Team
  • AF Corse ranks fifth and sixth with the n°52 ahead of the n°51 by 0.2s


  • United Autosports USA’s #23 car is fastest in LMP2 as Oliver Jarvis sets the pace with a record 3m32.226s
  • The British ace leads the No.65 Panis Racing team which makes its first top-six appearance until Job van Uitert culminates on a lap of 3m32.422s
  • #28 JOTA car shared by Ed Jones, Oliver Rasmussen and Jonathan Aberdein ranks third
  • Prema Orlen Oreca-Gibson is fourth and splits JOTA pair as #38 car completes top five
  • The #47 Algarve Pro Racing entry is the fastest Pro/Am division rider with John Falb, Jack Aitken and Sophia Floersch all getting track time


  • Harry Tincknell ensures #77 Porsche Dempsey Proton leads LMGTE Am as two-time Le Mans class winner breaks lap times in 3m55.067s
  • This time is 0.196s faster than the No.88 Dempsey Proton entry shared by Maxwell Root, Fred Poddard and Jan Heylen
  • AF Corse’s #61 Ferrari claims third position but the pole-sitter LMGTE Am car stops on track in the dying moments of the session and is towed to safety near the start-finish line

About Author

Comments are closed.